11:365

“If the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it.”

Tennessee Williams

20lgINDEXtennessee

 

I’ve been told that I write like I talk. I hope this blog is like a great yet mindblowing one-sided conversation with yours truly. No, it’s truly an adventure for you. It’s life changing, I’m sure of it. So, while we all are trying to find our inner voice, I can’t seem to keep mine from shutting up.

See, the problem I have is censoring myself. I talk a lot and I say whatever is on my mind. Last week, I was told that I tell stories far to graphically with hand gestures, precise detail, and, well, a lack of censoring. I don’t censor myself. And I never thought you should.

See, society told me at a very young age that not censoring myself is a lack of maturity. See, I think it’s the opposite. I think being honest about your true feelings is the most mature thing you can do. Tennessee Williams could tell you all about censorship.

Tennessee Williams is best known for his works, A Streetcar Named Desire, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, and The Glass Menagerie. Before he even published a work of fiction, he almost died. He was so ill, he was told that he only had a few weeks to live. Well, he didn’t. Yet, that wasn’t his biggest struggle. In the 1940s and 1950s, it was not alright to be homosexual. And well, Tennessee Williams was Queen of the Gay… yet, he had to censor himself from who he thought himself to be.

So, he wrote about it.

See, when Williams says, “If the writing is honest it cannot be separated from the man who wrote it,” he understood the value of being honest in writing. He used every bit of himself in his writing. He had homosexual undertones and didn’t let blatant censorship rain on his work. Williams was who he was without letting anyone tell him differently.

The point of all of this is to not let people tell you to censor yourself. Be who you are and never let the bitches get you down. So, be who you are. Say what’s on your mind.

SAY IT ALL.. and realize that it’s not immature to be blunt. Know that it takes courage to say what’s on your mind and don’t let that get you down.

Leave a Reply

