36:365

On Tumblr, someone reblogged a sweatshirt saying, “Don’t let the muggles get you down.” Quickly, I reblogged that and went on my way. Many of you might not know, but I have a fascination with Harry Potter. If you’ve been living under a rock, Harry Potter is a series of seven fantasy novels and eight blockbuster movies. It follows a wizard named Harry Potter, nicknamed the boy who lived, through his struggles through adolescence, friendship, love, and death. In the end, he must sacrifice himself to save the world from Voldemort. The books were first published in 1997. I was in elementary school for the first time after being home schooled. I kept hearing about this Harry Potter so I took a book from the library. My mother made me return it because I stole it and it was about wizards. I should have known since I wasn’t even allowed to watch Scooby Doo.

As an adult, I have read all the novels and seen all the movies. Harry Potter made me believe in something bigger than myself. J.K. Rowling’s ability to write a character who literally came to life for me inspired me to write as well. I wanted to be a writer… until someone told me something I will never forget. My first year in college, I was told that I was not a good writer. A professor of mine who apparently was a former TV news anchor called me out in the front of the class. He said I would never make it as a writer because no one wants to hear what I have to say and what I did say was not interesting enough. Frankly, if someone told me that now, I would punch them in the nose telling them, “GET LOST.” I didn’t. I let the muggle get me down.

I went a whole year without writing. That year between 18-19 was when I started to lose myself. Without writing, something triggered in me. That trigger was those voices that tell you that you are no good. These voices tell you that you aren’t worth anything. They don’t just come once; no, they repeat themselves until you make them your own truth. Those voices later lead me to my own thoughts of suicide. That cold February almost six years ago, I write a cry for help on my social media page. 

See, the muggle that got me down told me that no one wanted to hear what I had to say and no one was listening to me. He was a liar. My best friend was reading what I wrote and saved my life that night. I will never forget that night she saved me and took me to safety. My best friend proved that my muggle was wrong. 

Humans are muggles. We all are muggles. We say things we don’t mean. We hurt people we love the most. We are our own worst enemy at times. The one thing I want to tell you as the cold month lingers at your door steps, never give someone the power to make you feel a certain way about yourself. Only you can silence the demons. You must tell yourself you are beautiful and smart and lovely and have purpose. Only you can tell yourself the truth. After all, you are the one believing it. So, stop letting the muggles get you down. Open your eyes. Look in the mirror and look DEEP DOWN. You are a human with purpose. You are breathing because there is an evident plan for your life. 

And never let the muggles get you down.

2 thoughts on “36:365

Leave a Reply

