77:365

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Now forget the song, and turn that line into the title or inspiration for your post.

I’m radioactive… radioactive.

 

What does it mean to be “radioactive?” “Radioactive” is the process by which a nucleus of an unstable atom loses energy by emitting particles of ionizing radiation. (Thanks, Wikipedia) In simple terms, being radioactive means the loss of energy within an unstable “thing” thus leaking out radiation. We all know what radiation does. It destroys things.

When I heard the song, “Radioactive” by Imagine Dragons, I immediately thought it was about drugs. I mean, come on! Something that is unstable and destroys. Duh. I’ve had my little dabble with drugs. I tried it a few times. I never really liked it. I felt too paranoid. But, this, this song made me think.

 

I learned how to play it on the piano. I thought about the song. It is exactly what I need to hear right now.

 

I’m waking up to ash and dust
I wipe my brow and I sweat my rust
I’m breathing in the chemicals
I’m breaking in, shaping up, checking out on the prison bus
This is it, the apocalypse
Whoa

 

Waking up for ash and dust is not really about destruction as it is about rebuilding and reliving. I think I am starting over. I think I am starting to rebuild and restart. I am climbing out of my depression and relive.

My thoughts are unwinding and unyielding

My mind goes different places.

I think of you, and my heart swells

it swells with anger

it swells with pain

it swells from love that used to be.

but it’s getting bigger than it was supposed to be.

 

 

These days, I hate waking up. I hate waking up. I hate getting out of bed. I have overdue library books, unanswered text messages, and things to do.

 

But, I think I’m waking up.

 

Leave a Reply

